Food in Jeollanam-do

If there is one thing I really like about Jeollanam-do, it’s the crazy good variety of good food in the area. Actually it’s my favourite province because all the cities I’ve traveled to in Jeollanam-do are super pretty. Here are some of the best food I’ve eaten in Jeollanam-do so far!

tumblr_inline_o4uunxoxir1qlvkii_500
Bamboo rice
tumblr_inline_o4uuoms1xr1qlvkii_500
Ddeokgalbi (minced pork patty) 떡갈비

These dishes are from a restaurant called 금수한방숯불가든, located in Damyang, which is famous for its bamboo forest.

Restaurant name: 금수한방숯불가든

Address:

(Eng) 256-2 Hyanggyo-ri, Damyang-eup, Damyang, Jeollanam-do

(Hangul) 전남 담양군 담양읍 향교리 256-2

tumblr_inline_o4vpqtsl2l1qlvkii_500
Grilled duck in Yeosu. Sorry I forgot the restaurant name!! 😡
tumblr_ntuldutmri1rl9qjco3_500
Raw fish salad (best I’ve tasted in the entire Korea)

This raw fish salad (회무침) restaurant is located about 20min walk away from Odongdo Island. Really convenient to stop by before going for a walk on the island.

Restaurant name: 삼학집

Address:

(Eng) 200-3, Isunsingwangjang-ro, Yeosu-si, Jeollanam-do

(Hangul) 전남 여수시 이순신광장로 200-3

tumblr_ntuldutmri1rl9qjco6_500
Intestines rice soup 막창국밥

Ok this dish is by far my #1 favourite dish that I’ve tried while traveling to date. Seriously. Rice soup (국밥) is my soul food. I’ve recommended like sooo many people to go try this in Suncheon. If you are not used to the strong smell of the intestines, try the sliced pork rice soup (머리국밥) instead.

Restaurant name: 건봉국밥

Address:

(Eng) 371-1, Inje-dong, Suncheon-si, Jeollanam-do

(Hangul) 전남 순천시 인제동 371-1

img_4524
Bibimbap 비빔밥

Actually Jeonju is most famous for it’s special kind of Jeonju bibimbap, but this one I ate in Gwangju, and it’s nice because of the beef 🙂 The restaurant is located right at the entrance of the Penguin Village, perfect to stop by if you are visiting the Penguin Village.

Restaurant name: 한옥식당

Address:

(Eng) 52-3, Yangnim-dong, Nam-gu, Gwangju

(Hangul) 광주광역시 남구 양림동 52-3

My quest to conquer all the nice restaurants in countryside Korea hahahaha~

 

 

Leave a comment