Goblin Filming Site: Yongpyong Resort Dragon Peak

Happy New Year everyone!!

I’m back at home for winter vacation and it has been a good semester. I couldn’t post much due to exams in Dec but I will update with the trips that I took after final exams:)

dragon-peak
Ep 9 scene in Goblin

Goblin is a life-changing drama to me since ep 1 and I’ve been watching it fervently every week. Last Friday’s ep 9 showed really beautiful scenes of the supposedly ski resort that Euntak works as and [SPOILER ALERT] the backdrop where Shin back-hugged her was none other than the Dragon Peak at Yongpyong Resort! I recognised it immediately because I’ve been here twice and the architecture is quite unique. Furthermore there are only a few places that offer cable car rides.

Yongpyong Resort is a very popular and comprehensive ski resort that many skier friends of mine visit regularly. It is located at the foot of Mt. Balwangsan, and you can take a cable car to the peak of the mountain where the Dragon Peak, a swiss-style buiding is located at. There is a cafe inside where you can warm yourselves up in the winter. This venue is coincidentally also famous for being a filming site of Winter Sonata (cues bg music~).

Yongpyeong Resort also offers shuttle bus services from Seoul (16,000won per pax) or the Airports which you can reserve from their website. The prices of the ski lift pass can be found below:

yongpyong-ski-pass
Yongpyong Ski Resort 2016/2017 Lift Pass Pricing

The prices are reasonable and they just cost slightly more than some other resorts that I’ve posted about on my blog, but generally I feel that there are more things to do at this resort and more facilities that families would enjoy. The shuttle bus is also a paid service but at least you don’t have to worry about losing your way there. The view at Dragon Peak is definitely worth a shot in Winter even if it means you have to queue for the cable car ride.

Alpensia ski resort, which Wow Korea visited for our ski trip in December (2016) is actually just round the corner from Yongpyong, literally a 10 min drive away. The ski slopes in Alpensia are more suited for beginners and intermediate skiers, while Yongpyeong has a wider range of slopes that advanced skiers would enjoy as well. This widens your choice for skiing while you are visiting the Dragon Peak.

There is less than 2 months to the end of the ski season, I really want to go board as well but I have a shoulder injury TT which is why I don’t have pictures of the Wow Korea trip at the ski resort because I wasn’t there and was at home recuperating studying for exams haha.

 

Leave a comment