1-Day Yeosu & Suncheon Itinerary

This trip marked the 3rd time I’m visiting Yeosu and Suncheon, once each in Spring, Summer and Autumn. In Autumn it’s especially beautiful at Suncheon Bay National Garden. Heck, the garden is just beautiful all year round every time I’m there.

A good place to start touring Yeosu is to go up the Dolsan Park and take the Cable Car down to the entrance of Odongdo Island. At Odongdo Island you can spend about 1-2 hours walking around the entire island, and visit the Dragon’s cave or drink some Camellia tea. Near Yeosu Station is the Yeosu Expo, a great place I find to kill some time while waiting for the train and enjoy the sea view. I so love the sea at Yeosu.

Another alternative route I would recommend is the Yeosu Hanhwa Aquarium > Odongdo Island > Cable car up to Dolsan Park in the evening because the Dolsan bridge lights up at night and it’s really beautiful! The aquarium, Odongdo island and the cable car are walking distance from each other.

dscn5698
Walkway into Odongdo Island

At Yeosu, don’t miss the famous soy sauce crab! The crab dishes are actuall raw but you don’t ever feel like it’s raw I swear. Many restaurants sell it there and don’t be afraid to try it. Really tastes good and I always have it whenever I visit Yeosu.

Suncheon is just a short 50min train ride away from Yeosu Expo Station, and my personal favourite destination here is the Suncheon Bay National Garden. It is definitely worthy of the title of National Garden. Amazed at how beautiful and well-kept the park is every time I’m here. If you want to explore the entire park it might take more than half a day, so I suggest that you keep to about 3 hours here. The country-themed gardens are really photo-worthy so don’t miss them out!

dscn5755

Leave a comment